Every 50 minutes in the U.S. a person dies in an alcohol-impaired driving crash, according to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) statistics. If you have been injured or lost a loved one in an accident involving a drunk driver, contact Florin Gray Bouzas Owens, LLC. Our experienced Pasco County personal injury lawyers are passionate advocates for drunk driving accident victims in Pasco County.
We take a hands-on approach to your case, devising comprehensive strategies specifically tailored to your needs. Our experienced trial lawyers can negotiate skillfully on your behalf or litigate aggressively for maximum compensation. We are selective in handling cases, so we can maintain a smaller caseload and provide our clients with the respect and attention they deserve.
If you have been injured in a drunk driving accident, our Pasco County car accident lawyers can assist you through your recovery. Traffic deaths and injuries caused by drunk drivers are entirely preventable, yet many negligent individuals continue to drink and drive. In addition to compensatory damages, such as medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering, Florida law gives victims of drunk drivers the right to sue for punitive damages – designed to punish the drunk driver and set an example to help deter similar conduct in the future.
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a criminal offense proved by impairment of normal faculties or blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. Factors such as high BAC and having a minor in the vehicle can affect the severity of the penalties, which may include:
Florida has an “Implied Consent” law, which means when you sign for your driver’s license, you agree to take a breath, blood, or urine test if you are pulled over by an officer of the law and requested to do so. Refusal will result in an immediate driver’s license suspension for one year for a first offense or 18 months for a second offense.
The state also has a “Zero Tolerance” law for drivers under the age of 21. Any underage driver who has a BAC of .02 or higher when stopped by an officer will automatically have his or her driver’s license suspended for six months.
Most Florida courts will accept conviction of DUI at the time of an accident as proof of negligence and liability of the drunk driver, in which case compensation can be recovered from the drunk driver’s insurance company. Under pure comparative negligence laws, however, the victim’s compensation may be reduced by the percentage of fault for the accident attributed to the victim by the judge or jury.
Under state dram shop laws, the drunk driver who caused your accident may not be the only party liable for your injuries. An establishment that served the drunk driver alcohol and allowed him or her to leave intoxicated may be held partially responsible for the accident.
Our personal injury lawyers at Florin Gray Bouzas Owens, LLC have more than 60 years of experience successfully handling drunk driving and other auto accident cases in Pasco County and surrounding areas. Contact us today for a free case consultation if you or a loved one has been seriously injured by a drunk driver.
contact us today