Under state law, all drivers in Florida are required to carry a minimum in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), however, Florida has the highest percentage of uninsured motorists in the nation, at 26.7%. Nationwide, an estimated 13% of drivers were uninsured in a recent year.
If you have been involved in a crash caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist, contact Florin Gray Bouzas Owens, LLC as soon as possible. We serve Pasco County, representing car crash victims involved in uninsured/underinsured accidents. Our litigators are proud to have an extensive history of success in these cases.
We understand it may be a tough time for you after a serious car accident, so we offer a free consultation to determine if you have a case before proceeding. We are compassionate and understanding, and all our legal decisions are informed by your specific circumstances.
Our Pasco County personal injury lawyers take a hands-on approach to ensure you receive the representation you deserve.
Insurance companies have their own best interests at heart and will work to try to minimize payouts. Our experienced Wesley Chapel car accident lawyers can investigate your uninsured/underinsured motorist accident, assess the full extent of your losses, and provide the aggressive advocacy you need to obtain fair compensation from negligent parties and insurers.
We can advise you of your options under the law for recovering damages after an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
As reported by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), every vehicle with four or more wheels is required to have auto insurance coverage, and proof of coverage is required at registration. The minimum coverage required by state law is:
Certain drivers may be required to carry Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) insurance. This type of coverage, designed to pay for serious or long-term injury or death caused to others in an automobile crash, may be required for drivers with previous accidents or violations. The minimum for BIL is $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident.
Insurance coverage is available in addition to PIP, PDL, and BIL. Insurers in Florida offer optional collision, comprehensive, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
After an accident caused by an uninsured/underinsured driver, you may have several options for recovering compensation, which may include:
Our Pasco County attorneys at Florin Gray Bouzas Owens, LLC have more than six decades of experience successfully representing clients in a range of auto accident cases. We are passionate advocates for people injured in car accidents through the negligence of others.
Our firm is proud to serve the victims of Pasco County and surrounding areas, including Wesley Chapel and New Port Richey, FL. Contact us as soon as possible if you have been injured in a crash caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.